Reviews!

As I struggle each day to write new stories, I occasionally look at what my competition is doing. It is wonderful to know that at least a few people are successful.

I’ve become quite envious of those writers who have a string of five star reviews. How does one publish a book and in less than a week have ten, twenty or even thirty-five star reviews? What is even more impressive is when you see they are verified purchasers. Well done!

I may be a cynic, but as I was reviewing the details about one book (granted it was part of a series) that in less than a week had eighteen five star reviews I saw a pattern. Most of the other books in the series had 32 to 36 five star reviews. It seems strange that each book in the series ended up with approximately the same number of five star reviews.

Putting this out as a question. Do any of you fellow writers get so many reviews almost instantly?

For me, the answer is one of two things. The person who wrote the stories is very good at finding beta readers who are willing to post reviews after the book is published. After publication, the beta readers can “buy” the book, return it to get their money back, and still be a verified purchasers. Maybe this doesn’t happen, but it seems strange that a series with multiple five-star review titles, all end up with 30 to 35 reviews. Just seems strange.

The second idea is that some external review company will sell reviews for a price.

Am I being too much of a cynic to believe the reviews are some sort of package deal? Just my observations as I look at my own work and wish for even a single three-star review.

Leave a Reply

