Being an Indie author.

Where does the time go for an indie writer? Allotting the proper use of time seems to be the most pressing issue in my life. It seems that I have five segments that require my attention.

As a writer, the very first is thinking up a story and putting it to paper. Not an easy task for me at least. Contemplating the theme of my next story, outlining a general plot and then trying to put it all together. I wish I had 24 hours a day just do that. As a writer I find that I can often maintain an average of 2000 words a day on a story that is well-developed and ready to be written. Unlike more prolific writers than myself, my novels tend to run less than 80,000 words. Which means if all goes well, 40 days or less of writing could produce a novel. Sadly rare is the case that I can write more than two or three consecutive days without something interfering. Therefore those 40 days spread the two or three months.

Alas, a second even more demanding task befalls me. That is editing and rewriting what I have already written. Unfortunately I have found that at least three times that amount of time is required to edit one. That is with myself and a few devoted friends who are willing to help. During that time. of course any new writing suffers. Not only is it more time-consuming, it is far less rewarding to read the same sentences 4, 5, sometimes 10 times each. Then only to find that it still does not sound right and a section must be completely rewritten.

The next task while not nearly as time-consuming, can be even more frustrating. Coming up with a cover for the story. While not yet satisfied with the amount of money coming in, I am forced to generate my own covers. They may not be as clean and polished as some of my competitors, but I feel comfortable with them.

Now I have written my book! I have done the editing. And it has a cover that I am proud of. The hard work begins. Even though I publish on Amazon using Kindle Direct Publishing which is free to the user, there is a lot of work involved. Working the many blogs to try to publicize my work. Using social media’s as best I know how, which is limited takes far more time then it is really worth. Also involved is the discounts and giveaways. They have to be coordinated so not to overlap each other too much.

The fifth thing may be the most important of all. Real life! How to deal with the daily grind of keeping a spouse happy, doing the daily chores and in general communicating with the rest of the world who are not involved in the book. At least I don’t have a real-world job that takes some of my time as well.

Oh my, I forgot something. Sleep! Oh well we can forget about that or at the least cut it back.

Leave a comment